Is Pilates for Christians?

The other day I was talking with my mother on the phone about nothing in general, when she mentioned that she was exercising more and that she had began a new exercise, new to her, that she was really enjoying. This exercise was called Pilates. At the time I didn’t think much of it, my mother was always looking into new and interesting ways to stay fit. I had finished my conversation with my mother and hung up when it hit me that I had seen an article recently at Watchmen fellowships website talking about Pilates. My mother had called me once before and had asked me if I knew anything about Yoga. I had gone to the same website and rummaged around through hundreds of different articles and learned much about the yoga practice. Once I had gathered my material for my mother I went to her house and we sat and talked and I was able to explain to her why doing Yoga was probably not something that a christian should practice. Now that my mother was looking into Pilates and since I recall seeing an article about Pilates at the Watchmen Fellowship website I decided to check it out and see just what this Pilates was all about. The article is called The Pilates Method. The article was actually very interesting, not to long, easy to read and not hard to understand. In the article it gives a brief History of where Pilates had originated from. Joseph Pilates had a great background in gymnastics, yoga, and injury rehabilitation. He was able to use this type of background when he had moved to America shortly after WWI. Because of the prime location of his studio in New York city, it did not take long for Pilates to become very popular form of exercise. Since Joseph Pilates there have been many other styles of Pilates that have hit the market, these different forms are what the article calls Pilate Hybrids. In the article you can read the section on Causes for concern in which can read about how there are some types of Pilates that you may watch-out for and it probes the question of should a Christian support some of the groups or company’s that publish different types of these workouts. I don’t believe the author is totally against the idea of working out to Pilates, especially the original Pilates, but he does raise some interesting points that you may want to look into.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a comment